January 2016 reads, Uncategorized

Inferno by Catherine Doyle

  • Inferno, Catherine DoyleIMG_2288

Rating: * * * * *

Series: #2 Blood for Blood series

Publisher: Chicken House

Publication Date: January 2016

Goodreads synopsis: 

Romeo and Juliet meets The Godfather in the second installment of Catherine Doyle’s Blood for Blood series.

Sophie’s life has been turned upside-down, and she’s determined to set things right. But Nic, the Falcone brother who represents everything she’s trying to forget, won’t give up on their love – and it’s Luca’s knife she clutches for comfort. Soon another mafia clan spoils the fragile peace – and with her heart drawn in one direction and her blood in another, Sophie’s in deeper than ever.

I have just finished Inferno, and I am buzzing. I loved Vendetta, the first book in the series, but this sequel is even better. It’s thrilling and addictive, and I read it in one sitting because I absolutely could not put it down. There’s more betrayal, more vengeance, more passion, and more heartache.

One of the characters I really loved in the first novel was Millie, and she has some great moments in Inferno. Some of my favourite bits include her dolphin-themed pep talk, her stealth driving when she and Sophie sense that they are being followed, and her insults to the Falcone brothers. Of the latter, I especially like the following one, of which Dom is the subject:

“‘Tell him not to come near us. I would hate to risk drowning in his surplus hair gel.'”

 She’s a faithful and hilarious best friend to Sophie, and provides humour between some of the darker sections of the novel.

My absolute favourite character from the first book was Luca, and I was desperate for more of him in Inferno. Catherine Doyle fulfilled this wish – there are a multitude of wonderful exchanges between him and Sophie in this novel, and I now love Luca even more (Which I did not think possible!).  The scene with the doughnut is adorable and perfect, and had me beaming at the book so widely that my face began to hurt! Also, THAT MOMENT on page 261 is the one I had been waiting for! Luca and Sophie are my OTP.

The plot of Inferno is unceasingly exciting, gripping and unpredictable, with countless twists and turns. The Falcones and Marinos mean business in their blood feud – each will stop at nothing to destroy the other Mafia clan. Sophie and her mother are caught in the crossfire. The stakes are higher and the situation is darker and more dangerous than before. The feud builds up to a highly dramatic and emotional crescendo at the end of the book.

As always, Catherine Doyle’s dialogue is punchy, the pace is exactly right, and the whole novel is like an action movie. I cannot wait for book three!

Leave a Reply

