Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

  • Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Rating: * * * * *

Series: #5 Throne of Glass

Publisher: Bloomsbury

Publication Date: September 2016

Screen Shot 2016-09-08 at 22.34.09.png

Goodreads Synopsis:

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

NB – This review is shorter and slightly less specific than my usual ones because I’ve tried to keep it completely free of spoilers as I know a lot of fans of this series haven’t read this book yet. 

 

I have just finished ‘Empire of Storms’, the fifth installment in Sarah J Maas’ bestselling Throne of Glass series, and I absolutely loved every page of it. It has to be my favourite book of the series so far and it has zoomed all the way to the top of my list of my favourite books of this year (and probably my list of favourite books ever). It was epic and awesome, and now that I have finished it I just want to reread it all again and relive all of the emotions, tension and excitement.

‘Empire of Storms’ is the longest Throne of Glass book yet, with around 700 pages, yet in no place does it drag or feel slow. The 700 pages are packed with heart-pounding action and adventure. I was absolutely hooked and entranced for the duration. I could not put the book down, nor could I turn the pages fast enough. And even 700 pages did not feel like long enough, because I could read about these characters all day, every day. Each character in the novel has such a striking and vivid personality and I loved reading each of their stories. Lots of the characters are further developed and we get to know them really well. I particularly love all of the female characters in this series – each of them has their own unique kind of strength. I actually have a new favourite female character from reading this book.

Not only is there non-stop action and tension, but there is also fantastic and immersive world-building and we get to see lots of different parts of Erilea. There are brilliant and vivid scenes involving magic and magical creatures. There are lots of epic romances and friendships, too. There were a couple of things in ‘Queen of Shadows’, the previous installment in the series, that I was not quite sure about, but ‘Empire of Storms’ completely turned these around for me. There are also some really moving sections that will bring tears to your eyes. ‘Empire of Storms’ captures your imagination and your heart, just as Sarah J. Maas’ other 2016 novel, ‘A Court of Mist and Fury’ did. Sarah J. Maas has written two outstanding novels this year and what I love about her writing is that it just keeps getting better and better, more and more epic. With every book she pushes the boundaries of awesomeness – just when I think her books cannot be any more fantastic, they move on to a whole other level of amazingness that I didn’t know existed!

The final hundred pages of ‘Empire of Storms’ are thrilling and mind-blowing. There are so many twists and revelations, and Sarah J. Maas links these right back to the very beginning of the series. I love it when authors do that – when they have planned the series in advance so that they reveal something late on in the series and there have been hints about it right from the beginning, and it is like a puzzle all coming together and joining up.  It’s an explosive, emotional and jaw-dropping finale and it will have you bursting for the next book.

In short, ‘Empire of Storms’ is Maas-ively amazing (get it?!) and, in my opinion, the best book of the series to date and the best book of 2016 so far! I cannot praise it highly enough.

 

Leave a Reply

