Uncategorized

Reading and Writing Resolutions for 2017!

Happy New Year!

The year has only just begun but I have already read a few amazing books – Son of the Shadows by Juliet Marillier, Heir to Sevenwaters by Juliet Marillier, and Mafiosa by Catherine Doyle (review of the latter will be posted very soon!) – and I am looking forward to reading many more!

 

Some of the books I am most excited about in the next few months are:

  • Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken, Windwitch by Susan Dennard, and A Quiet Kind of Thunder by Sara Barnard. These three all publish on January 12th, which is less than a week away now!

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 17.12.19.png

  • The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman and Margot and Me by Juno Dawson, both published on the 26th of January

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 17.33.54.png

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber and Long Way Home by Katie McGarry, both published towards the end of January.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 17.35.27.png

  • In February, I’m really excited about the publication of the sequels to some of my favourite books of last year: Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton, Dawn Study by Maria V. Snyder, and A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 17.37.10.png

  • The March books I cannot wait for are: A Crown of Wishes by Roshani Chokshi, The Scarecrow Queen by Melinda Salisbury and Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor.

Screen Shot 2017-01-06 at 17.38.08.png

 

I’m also very keen to read as many classic novels as I can this year, starting with finishing reading the novels of the Brontë sisters: I’ve read four already, so I just have The Professor, Shirley + Villette left. I’m very much looking forward to reading them! Then I’d like to read The Mill on the Floss, The Picture of Dorian Grey and Mrs Dalloway. 

I would also really like to read some Agatha Christie novels this year, as I enjoyed the recent adaptations of And Then There Were None and The Witness For the Prosecution. I’ve been looking at the blurbs for her books and I think Five Little Pigs sounds particularly intriguing:

Beautiful Caroline Crale was convicted of poisoning her husband, yet there were five other suspects: Philip Blake (the stockbroker) who went to market; Meredith Blake (the amateur herbalist) who stayed at home; Elsa Greer (the three-time divorcee) who had roast beef; Cecilia Williams (the devoted governess) who had none; and Angela Warren (the disfigured sister) who cried ‘wee wee wee’ all the way home.

It is sixteen years later, but Hercule Poirot just can’t get that nursery rhyme out of his mind…

 

Most of all, I would really love to finish the first draft of my novel! Today I hit 15,000 words and I’ve written 3.5 chapters so far. Sometimes I get really into writing projects and then abandon them at this point, but this one I am determined to finish! It’s based on Greek mythology, which is something I absolutely love, and the characters are always filling my head.

Leave a Reply

